Friday, June 3, 2011

Review: Passion by Lauren Kate


Author: Lauren Kate
Release Date: June 14th 2011
Publisher: Random House
Add it: Goodreads
"Every single lifetime, I'll choose you. Just as you have always chosen me. Forever"

Before Luce and Daniel met at Sword & Cross, before they fought the Immortals, they had already lived many lives. And so Luce, desperate to unlock the curse that condemns their love, must revisit her past incarnations in order to understand her fate. Each century, each life, holds a different clue.

But Daniel is chasing her throughout the centuries before she has a chance to rewrite history.

How many deaths can one true love endure? And can Luce and Daniel unlock their past in order to change their future?

While in the previous novels, we've been given maybe a total of two or three chapters from Daniel's perspective - in Passion each new chapter switches from Luce to Daniel narrative. Torment left us on a cliffhanger after the big showdown, having Luce jump inside one of the Announcers, determined for answers. Passion sees her go from life to life, journeying further and further back into the past as she witnesses the multiple lifetimes she and Daniel shared. She has a trail of angels and nephilim trying to catch up with her, with Daniel right on her heels, desperate to find Luce before she potentially rewrites their entire history.

In each of the lives she jumps into, Luce learns a little something new. How carrying weight of this curse through each millennium has affected Daniel. How strong and true his love really is. That it's not just the curse that draws them together every time, but the love that's buried deep within their souls. While they're not the earth-shattering revelations and answers we've all been waiting on, they're important for Luce to understand. For her to learn more about Daniel and acknowledge what he's has endured, how he's responded to the events each time. On the other hand, Daniel's chapters provided more insight into the bigger questions. We finally learn the origin of the curse, travelling back to the very moment that changed everything. We also gain a much greater perspective on Cam and what made him turn bad boy.

As we go further back into Luce and Daniel's lives, civilisations become less... well, civilised. Some lives they've lived, the practices of the people are quite barbaric. It was interesting to see how each past version of both Luce and Daniel acted and interacted within each life. I loved that we saw so many different settings and ages explored in just one book. From Italy to England, Tibet to Egypt, 1900's right back to crazy-long-ago BCE. It was fascinating to get a glimpse into so many different cultures and surroundings and each new way that Daniel and Luce came together... and were torn apart.

While I did miss many of the secondary characters that I grew to love from the previous novels, they do make a few short appearances. But it's a newcomer that steals the show for me. Bill. Oh, Bill. His addition to Passion is one of my favourite parts about the book. I won't say much about him, because I don't want to ruin anything, but he brings an entirely new element to the series. And a lot of humour. I found myself laughing out loud countless times with the stuff that comes out of his mouth. And while I did have my suspicions about him, he definitely surprised me in the end!

As always, we're left with a cliffhanger ending. The ending of Passion sets up for what is hopefully going to be a big, climatic showdown in Rapture. Lauren has a talent of building up those final scenes and then leaving us turning the last pages, chanting 'more, more, more!'. But then there is no more, only a page stating that Rapture will be here Spring 2012. And you deflate a little. Because that's over a year away and waiting sucks.

You've got to give credit to Lauren. I imagine taking on the task of writing a novel that spans 5000 years had to be incredibly daunting at first. When I first heard the third book would be a prequel and we'd see thousands of years of lives, I thought "How the heck will she pull that off?!" but she did so and brilliantly. Passion has it all - history, romance, betrayal and revelations. For fans of Luce and Daniel's romantic saga than has spanned the ages, they won't be disappointed. But be prepared to be left wanting the fourth book asap!

Rating: 4/5

9 comments:

  1. Oh, I can't wait to read this one! I really liked the first book in the series, so I'm glad to hear that this one was a good addition. : )

    I've nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award on my blog. *I apologize if you're a blog that doesn't accept awards!* I didn't know.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I might have to give Fallen another chance to see where this series goes, and yeah...I didn’t read this review :P

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great review!!
    I definitely can't wait until this book comes out! Ahhh I'm so excited :D I can't wait to see how she fits all of Luce's and Daniels history together.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review! I wasn't much of a fan of FALLEN but I LOVED TORMENT! I should be getting this book very soon . . . can't wait since I love history! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow Brodie! Okay, girl, you've convinced me to finish Torment asap! Because I think Passion will be so worth it! I love how you described Luce's journey into the past and how both she and Daniel had changed with every encounter. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for the great review !! I read the first two books in the Fallen series but I didn't enjoy them as much as I was hoping to .. I may read the third book anyway because it sounds very good =) !!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great review. I can't decide if I love or hate this series, probably a bit of both :-) I think I love it but get angry at how there's not much development of plot and just a whole lot of (quite interesting) story. Hopefully in Passion some of the questions get answered!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ohmigod!!!! Hope that bill is not behind Luce !!desperately waiting for passion.hope luce realizes that Daniel is the best for her with miles and cam chasing her . Loved fallen and torment .can't wait fir passion.just7 days!$$$$$

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Eleusinian Mysteries Copyright © 2012 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates